CLCC Steering Committee

The CLCC is currently governed by a Steering Committee with a Chair (currently Pedro Rios, U.S. Forest Service El Yunque National Forest) and an Executive Team, a sub-committee of the Steering Committee.

Member agencies and organizations can appoint alternates if desired. Current SC members are listed below. The Steering Committee and Executive Team strive for consensus and when no consensus can be reached each member agency or organization has one vote in decision (“One agency, One vote”). Organizations represented on the SC control or influence land and marine resource use and resource management decisions, or can offer resources and skills to enhance the work of the Cooperative membership to support the planning and delivery of sustainable conservation efforts.

The functions of the Steering Committee are to:

1. Set the vision, goals and priorities for the CLCC;

2. Provide direction to the CLCC Coordinator and staff;

3. Approve a long-term strategy and operational by-laws;

4. Approve an annual work plan including a priority setting process for allocating funding;

5. Provide communication on CLCC relevant organizational programs and initiatives;

6. Participate in two annual joint steering committee and stakeholder meetings; and

7. Participate in monthly one-hour conference calls (Executive Team).


*ET denotes member of the Executive Team


Allan Brown (ET)

U.S Fish and Wildlife Service

Assistant Regional Director

Fish and Aquatic Conservation Program

Atlanta, Georgia


Ernesto L. Díaz (ET)

Director of the Office for Coastal Management and Climate Change

Puerto Rico Department of Natural and Environmental Resources

San Juan, Puerto Rico


Shawn-Michael Malone (ET)

Federal Relations Coordinator

Office of Governor Kenneth E. Mapp

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands


Jean Pierre Oriol

Director of the Division of Coastal Zone Management of the Virgin Islands Department of Planning and Natural Resources

St Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands


Susan Silander (ET)

Project Leader

USFWS Caribbean Islands NWR complex

Boquerón, Puerto Rico


José Cruz (ET)

USFWS Endangered Species Program

Caribbean ES Field Office

Boquerón, Puerto Rico


Magaly Figueroa (ET)

Program Manager

State and Private Forestry

USDA Forest Service

International Institute of Tropical Forestry

San Juan, Puerto Rico


Pedro Rios (ET)

Ecosystem Mgt & Planning Team Leader

Natural Resources Staff Officer

USDA, US Forest Service

El Yunque National Forest

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico


Lisamarie Carrubba (ET)

NOAA Fisheries
Caribbean Field Office, PRD

Boquerón, Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico


Evelyn Huertas

Environmental Scientist

Multimedia Permits and Compliance Branch

USEPA Region 2, Caribbean Environmental and

Protection Division

Guaynabo, Puerto Rico


Susan Yee


Gulf Breeze, Florida


Joel Tutein

Superintendent, NPS

Christiansted National Historic Site

Christiansted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands


Fernando Lloveras San Miguel

Executive Director

Para La Naturaleza

San Juan, Puerto Rico


Soledad Gaztambide (for F. Lloveras)(ET)

Policy and Government Relations Coordinator

Para La Naturaleza

San Juan, Puerto Rico


Jorge Báez (for F. Lloveras)(ET)

Operations Director

Para La Naturaleza

San Juan, Puerto Rico


Sean L. Krigger

Acting Director/Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer

Historic Preservation Architect

Department of Planning and Natural Resources

Virgin Islands State Historic Preservation Office

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands


Arthur Petersen, Ph.D. (ET)

Deputy Commissioner

VI Department of Agriculture

U.S. Virgin Islands


Luis García Pelatti


The Planning Board of Puerto Rico

Santurce, Puerto Rico


David Sumner

USGS Caribbean-Florida Water Science Center

Orlando, Florida


Sigfredo Torres González (ET)

Hydrologist, Groundwater Specialist


GSA Center, 651 Federal Drive, Suite 400-15

Guaynabo, Puerto Rico


José Salguero  (ET)

PR Department of Natural and Environmental



Gerard McMahon (ET)

Center Director,

Southeast Climate Science Center

US Geological Survey

Raleigh, North Carolina


Aranzazu Lascurain (for G. McMahon)(ET)

Program Coordinator
SE Climate Science Center

NC State University

Raleigh, North Carolina


Ruth Gomez


DPNR Division of Fish and Wildlife

Department of Planning and Natural Resources

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands


Daniel Nellis (for R. Gomez)

DPNR Division of Fish and Wildlife

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands



This post is also available in: Inglés